So when my good friend first got me to start watching old movies, we mostly watched Mickey Rooney/Judy Garland movies. I always have loved Judy’s movies and of course her voice.

So when one of my new favorite shows, Glee, performed “Don’t Rain on My Parade” I decided to abandon Judy just this once and give Barbra Streisand a try.

Funny Girl didn’t disappoint me in the least. It was a great movie and reminded me a lot of Judy’s A Star is Born. Streisand’s performance is solid and definitely makes me want to check out other movies of hers. Streisand was familiar with the role after portraying Brice in the Broadway production as well.

Based on the life of comedian Fanny Brice, Funny Girl portrays Brice’s journey from Jersey to the stage as a Ziegfeld girl. Brice charms her way into a show and gives the crowd something different when she bumbles around the stage on roller skates. Her comedic act was born.

The movie also chronicles Brice’s marriage to Nick Arnstein. Omar Sharif plays Nick and gives an equally solid performance.

According to sources, the finale song, “My Man”, was filmed live to give a better affect and also because Streisand didn’t like to lip-sync.

Streisand tied with Katherine Hepburn (Lion in the Winter) for the Best Actress Oscar in 1968.

Funny Girl is a must-see for any musical lover.

